Catholic Transcript Magazine of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford Connecticut

Saturday, June 23, 2018

HARTFORD – Eight Connecticut women will be recognized for their exceptional volunteerism at “Wonder Women… Women Helping Women,” the second annual benefit for Malta House of Care (MHC), taking place from 5:30-8 p.m. May 8 at the Town and County Club, 22 Woodland St.

The honorees are Dr. Molly Brewer of Farmington, associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Connecticut Health Science Center; Sandra “Sandy” Bender Fromson of Hartford, a board member of the Connecticut Humanities Council and a philanthropist; Laura Grondin of West Hartford, president and CEO of Virginia Industries Inc., who serves on the New England Advisory Council to the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston; Irene O’Connor of Hartford, WFSB-TV Channel 3 anchor of “Eyewitness News This Morning”; Trude Mero of Hartford, owner of Nutmeg Planners; Ki Miller of West Hartford, a hospice and grief counselor at VNA HealthCare; Thea Montanez of Hartford, director of marketing programs for The Hartford; and Dr. Kristen A. Zarfos of Deep River, medical director of the Comprehensive Breast Health Center at St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center.

The fund-raiser features cocktails and tapas, networking, silent and live auctions, and the opportunity for attendees to have their likenesses taken by the region’s foremost theater photographer.

Tickets are $75, which includes a $50 tax-deductible donation to support the Malta House of Care as a patient-centered medical home for the uninsured.

Since opening the doors to its mobile medical clinic on July 9, 2006, the MHC has provided more than 20,062 free patient consultations. From physical exams and screenings to immunizations, ongoing treatment plans and medications and much more, the oordinated, free medical services of MHC are improving the quality of life Connecticut residents and their families.

MHC’s mission is made possible by more than 70 physicians, nurses, counselors, interpreters, and administrators who voluntarily heal, teach and assist patients, and by the generous support of corporations, foundations and individuals.

Charter members of MHC’s Wonder Women are: Emilie de Brigard of Higganum; Marilda Gandara of Hartford; Mary Gibbons of Hartford; Helen Gray of Farmington; Susan R. Kelly of Middle Haddam; Cathy Malloy of Hartford; Joyce Mandell of West Hartford; Marie O’Brien of Bristol; Filomena M. Soyster of Farmington; Carla Squatrito of South Windsor; Nadine Francis West of Hartford; Karen Cronin Wheat of Bloomfield; and Linda Cheverton Wick of Hartford.

The 2012 Wonder Women honorary committee co-chairs are Mary Gibbons and Diana Jepsen. Committee members are Ellen Carey, Mally Cox-Chapman, Janice Cirikovic, Sara Cole, Joan Cox, Eileen Dadlez, Carole Donabedian, Joanne Eudy, Dr. Rita Jepsen House, Abby Jewett, Suzanne Kinard, Joan Kohn, Allison McCoy, Dr. Pauline Olsen, Claire Pryor, Sonia Reis-Costa, Lee Reynolds, Belle Ribicoff, Susan Rottner, Beth Rubino, Lori-Ann Russo, Diane Smith, Sharon W. Smith, Yolanda Sousa, Dr. Michele Twigg, Marie-Claire van Rooy, Julie Vayer and Silvia Winn.

To receive an invitation to “Wonder Women,” call (860) 548-1593, or register online at