Catholic Transcript Magazine of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford Connecticut

Sunday, April 22, 2018

HOPES 6676-web

Archbishop Leonard P. Blair and Dale R. Hoyt, superintendent of schools for the Archdiocese of Hartford, escort Amy Brough to the podium at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville on Sept. 28 at the 37th annual HOPES (Help Our Parish Elementary Schools) Dinner, sponsored by the archdiocesan Office of Catholic Schools.

Mrs. Brough received the 2014 St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award for her extraordinary volunteer work at Corpus Christi School in Wethersfield since 2002.

Father Shawn Daly, pastor of Corpus Christi, said, “I’m amazed when I look at everything she’s done, and she’s done it not only cheerfully, but enthusiastically. I cannot think of a more deserving candidate for the Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Award than Amy Brough.”

Principal Eileen Sampiere spoke along the same lines. "Simply put, whenever Corpus Christi School has had a need, Amy Brough has worked tirelessly to help fulfill it,” she said. “Her dedication to our school, her faith in our core values and her tireless work ethic are attributes reflective of Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton’s life.”

Also honored at the event were 111 recipients of the 2014 St. John Neumann Awards for Volunteer Service, which were presented by Archbishop Blair; Dr. Hoyt;, and Maria Maynard, deputy superintendent, to volunteers nominated from 48 Catholic elementary schools within the Archdiocese of Hartford.

The dinner is held the same weekend as the annual HOPES collection across the archdiocese, which helps to fund grants to elementary schools and supports Office of Catholic Schools marketing efforts.