Catholic Transcript Magazine of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford Connecticut

Thursday, April 19, 2018

sha scholarssssmfWinners of Sacred Heart Academy’s Sister Antonine Signorelli, ASCJ, Memorial Scholarship pose during a reception in their honor recently at the school with Sister Maureen Flynn, principal, in back row, left, and Sister Sheila O’Neill, school president. They are, from left, in front, Claire Niesobecki, Hannah Lavesque, Alicia Pekar, Corinne Wilklow, Jeanne Marie Cassidy, Sophie Park, Elizabeth Lamont and Abigail Kelly. (Photo submitted)HAMDEN – Each year, incoming freshmen with outstanding academic records who have achieved Sacred Heart Academy’s highest entrance exam scores are awarded the Sister Antonine Signorelli, ASCJ, Memorial Scholarship.

Established in 1993, the scholarship honors the life, philosophy and achievements of the academy’s foundress and first principal. The scholars comprise a distinct group of young women who display strong academic success with promise for future accomplishment.

The 2013 Antonine Scholars and their families recently attended a reception held in their honor that was hosted by the admissions office and current Antonine Scholars. They are Jeanne Marie Cassidy of Bethany, Abigail Kelly of Shelton, Elizabeth Lamont of Hamden,  Hannah Levesque of Wallingford, Jordan Meares-Garcia of New Haven, Claire Niesobecki of Middlebury, Sophie Park of Essex, Alicia Pekar of Branford, Toella Pliakas of Hamden,and Corinne Wilklow of Fairfield.

"Past recipients of the Sister Antonine Signorelli, ASCJ Memorial Scholarship have gone on to further their education at some of the finest colleges and universities in the United States and abroad," said Sister Sheila O’Neill, president, a 1971 graduate.

Sister Sheila said many recipients of the scholarship later consider the academy to be an impetus for their success. Recent graduates who had earned the scholarship currently study at such schools as the University of Leicester in Great Britain, Princeton University, University of Notre Dame, Brown University, Tufts University, Yale University, U.S. Naval Academy, Dartmouth College and Cornell University.