Catholic Transcript Magazine of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford Connecticut

As we celebrate the 175th Anniversary of the Archdiocese, we look back… on July 23, 1976 when Archbishop Henry J. O'Brien passed away.
Catholic Transcript Reader Survey
Catholic Transcript Reader Survey

WEST HAVEN – Notre Dame High School named hockey and baseball captain Gregory Zullo, ’13, as its Athlete of the Year at the Senior Athletic Award Ceremony on May 21.

This award is Notre Dame’s most prestigious athletic award. The winner is selected by all of the school’s head coaches on the basis of his athletic achievement and contribution to his team and athletic department as a whole.

Mr. Zullo, of Branford, will attend Stonehill College in Easton, Mass., on a baseball scholarship. He was a four-year varsity hockey player and three-year varsity starter for the baseball team. He played in four state championship games, two each in baseball and hockey. An all-state performer in each sport as a junior, he had 14 goals and 26 assists in hockey, including the game-winning goal, in a 5-4 overtime win over East Haven in the first round of the Division I tournament, while earning all-state honors as a senior as well. He had 123 career points (39 goals, 84 assists) in hockey. He was a key cog in the infield, on the mound and in the batter’s box in baseball.

"Greg represented Notre Dame in an exceptional manner in their athletic endeavors and earned this distinction," said athletic director Tom Marcucci, ’66. "He excelled on the ice and the baseball diamond; although his season was cut short by injury, he worked extra hard to return at the end of the regular season. He has the utmost respect from our coaches and those around the area and state."

Notre Dame head hockey coach Bill Gerosa and baseball coach Lou Kessler, ’77, praised Mr. Zullo, as well.

Notre Dame also announced its sportsmanship awards, including the Cavanaugh Award, given to the senior athlete who best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship in the eyes of the head coaches. It went to Brian Gargiulo, who was involved in football, indoor track and baseball.

Dylan McGuinness, (lacrosse) was named the CIAC Scholar-Athlete.  Jason Abate (outdoor track) was named Notre Dame’s Scholar Athlete. Paul Sliwinski (hockey/lacrosse) and Jordan Williams (football/swimming) received the CIAC Award of Excellence for sportsmanship, ethics and integrity.

The following team awards were announced:

Cross country, Dan Coppolo; football,  Chris Perry; soccer,  Earl McCoy; basketball, Joe Bongiorni; hockey, Kyle Thibault; indoor track, Earl McCoy; swimming, Jordan Williams; baseball,  Michael Levine; golf, Tom Korolyshun; lacrosse, Dylan McGuinness; outdoor track, Ethan Godfrey; and tennis, Bobby Steele.

alertAt the Spring Assembly of the U.S. bishops, Cardinal Joseph Tobin suggested that a delegation ofbishops go to the border to see for themselves what was happening to newly arrived immigrants, families and children. On July 1 and 2, Cardinal Daniel DiNardo, president of the U.S. bishops conference, and five other bishops conducted a pastoral visit to the diocese of Brownsville, Texas. Stops included Mass at the Shrine of Our Lady of San Juan del Valle with the community, a visit to anHHS/OBR Shelter and Mass for the families there, a visit to the Customs and Border Patrol processing center in McAllen, TX, and a press conference at the end of their visit. Catholic News Service accompanied the bishops on their border trip. 

  1. Backgrounder and analysis of the bishops’ trip to the border: Cardinal DiNardo told CNS, “You cannot look at immigration as an abstraction when you meet” the people behind the issue.
  2. At final press conference, Cardinal Daniel Dinardo said the church was willing to be part of any conversation to find humane solutions because even a policy of detaining families together in facilities caused “concern.”
  3. Bishops serve soup to immigrant families at a center run by Catholic Charities and listen to their stories. Scranton Bishop Joseph Bambera said he found hope in hearing the people in the room talk about what’s ahead. They didn’t speak of making money but of finding safety for their children, he said, driven by “the most basic instinct to protect your family.”
  4. At an opening Mass he Basilica of Our Lady of San Juan del Valle-National Shrine near McAllen, Texas, Bishop Daniel Flores of Brownsville told Massgoers, “The bishops are visiting here so they can stop and look and talk to people and understand, especially the suffering of many who are amongst us,”

A delegation of U.S. bishops goes on a fact-finding mission at the U.S.-Mexican border to learn more about Central American immigration detention.

Following their visit to an immigrant detention center, U.S. bishops said they are even more determined to call on Congress for comprehensive immigration reform.