May 29, 2024

The Catholic Transcript

Complete News World

UK restricts travel from Angola and Mozambique |  Angola |  DW

UK restricts travel from Angola and Mozambique | Angola | DW

As of this Sunday (28.11) travel restrictions apply to travelers to the United Kingdom from Angola, Malawi, Mozambique and Zambia. Measures to control the spread of the new variant of COVID-19, known as Omigron, are already valid in South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland and Zimbabwe.

The only exception is British citizens, who must be isolated in a designated hotel on their return from these areas where they are considered endangered.

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced in London on Saturday (27.11) that he would reintroduce restrictions on combating the new variant of the corona virus, including the mandatory use of masks in business premises and public transport and the imprisonment of travelers from certain countries. .

The British Ministry of Health said it had detected two cases of infection in the country with a new variant of “those linked to a trip to South Africa”.

Germany closes borders

Many countries, including Germany, Israel, Australia, the United States, Japan and the United Arab Emirates, began to block or restrict the entry of travelers from South Africa, including Mozambique, due to the appearance of the new variant. Passengers who have already arrived are isolated.

Countries have banned the entry of travelers from South Africa due to the Omigron variant

The European Union (EU) has decided to suspend flights to seven South African countries, including Mozambique.

As of 0:00 a.m. Sunday, visitors from Mozambique, South Africa and six SADC countries (Botswana, Swatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Zimbabwe) will no longer be able to enter Germany, according to the official list of the National Institutes of Health. Service of Germany (RKI).

See also  Polsonaro seals alliance with ruling coalition in Brazil, while Supreme Court orders hearing

Travelers coming from these places can only enter Germany with German citizenship or permanent residence in Germany. These individuals must complete 14 days of isolation, even with a full immunization certificate. Angola is not yet on the list.

The German government has confirmed two cases of new variation in its territory. These are two passengers who entered the country from South Africa via Munich Airport.