Catholic Transcript Magazine of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hartford Connecticut

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

shhs 9 hedshots webClockwise from top left, Todd Nugai, Stephanie Cummings,  Father Jeffrey V. Romans, James and Deborah Dowling Mulhall, Jody Baker, Nazih Noujaim, Adrienne Dean Parkmond and Raymond Coughlin. Penny A. Leisring is at center.WATERBURY – Sacred Heart High School will salute the commitment and dedication of 10 of its friends at its 21st annual awards dinner Nov. 2 at the Aqua Turf in Plantsville.

The following men and women will be honored:

Father Jeffrey V. Romans, pastor of St. Bridget Parish in Cheshire, will be presented with the Reverend John J. Fitzgerald Lifetime Achievement Award for his passionate commitment to the value of Catholic education and for his selfless giving for the benefit of others. 

Attorney Stephanie Cummings, a 2005 graduate and a Waterbury resident, will receive the Marcia Galvin Brayton Alumni Award. The award recognizes her continuing support and commitment to helping to further the mission of Sacred Heart High School and for her dedication and commitment to the city of Waterbury.

Attorney James and Deborah Dowling Mulhall of Watertown, class of 1976, will receive the Reverend John Blanchfield Family Spirit Award. It recognizes their dedicated efforts in enhancing the spirit and mission of Sacred Heart.

Attorney Adrienne Dean Parkmond of Waterbury, a 1986 graduate, will receive the Reverend Cornelius Teulings Community Service Award for her dedication and commitment to public service, as well as for her personal and professional qualities, which serve as fine examples for the students of Sacred Heart.

Dr. Penny A. Leisring of Waterbury, a 1989 graduate, will be presented with the Monsignor James G. Coleman Award for the success she has attained in her professional career, which serves as a reflection on the preparation she received while a student at the Sacred Heart.

Waterbury resident Raymond Coughlin, '63,will be given the Reverend John Dial Leadership Award for his commitment and leadership support in helping to further the mission of Sacred Heart High School. 

Todd Nugai of Watertown will receive the Sisters of Mercy Public Service Award. The 1991 graduate is being recognized for his dedication in serving his community as a member of the Waterbury Fire Department and for his commitment in helping to protect the citizens of Waterbury.

The Reverend John Meaney Community Impact Award is being given to Nazih Noujaim, '82, a Prospect resident, to recognize the impact that the school's legacy families have on their communities, families and the Greater Waterbury community.

Jody Baker will be given the Dom Giallello Award posthumously in honor of the impact he had on the Sacred Heart High School community as a special education teacher and his immeasurable commitment and dedication to the students.  

Tickets are $40 and may be obtained by calling Karen Ciarleglio in Sacred Heart’s advancement office at (203) 753-1605, ext. 12. Seating is limited and tickets will not be sold at the door. All proceeds from this event will support student programming and the scholarship assistance program, which annually awards over $680,000. 

Sacred Heart High School, the oldest Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of Hartford, has been a cornerstone in the Greater Waterbury community for more than nine decades and has touched the lives of over 12,000 graduates and their families. The hallmark of Sacred Heart has always been and continues to be the spirited selflessness of its families and volunteers, and it is this spirit of generosity that it celebrates this year’s honorees. 

This year’s dinner is underwritten in part by Gold Sponsor:  Moore, O’Brien, & Foti and our Maroon and Gold Sponsors, Winzz Gas n’ Go, Ultimate Services, Carmody, Torrance, Sandak & Hennessey LLP, Dennis Uniform, Loehmann Blasius Chevrolet Cadillac, Apex International Education Partners, LLC (AIEP) and M.J. Fahy & Sons.