May 29, 2024

The Catholic Transcript

Complete News World

Abdel Razzaq Qurna wins the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 |  pop art

Abdel Razzaq Qurna wins the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 | pop art

Abdul Razzaq Qurna won the Nobel Prize for Literature for the year 2021. This announcement was made Thursday morning (7) by the Swedish Academy.

According to the Academy, the award was awarded “for its hardened and emotional penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of refugees into the abyss between cultures and continents.”

Gherna was born in 1948, grew up on the island of Zanzibar, and arrived in England in the 1960s as a refugee. The novelist began writing at the age of twenty-one and has published ten books and numerous short stories throughout his career. The subject of refugees is the basis of all his work.

His first book (“Memory of Departure”) was released in 1987 and tells the story of a talented young man who attempts a new life under the protection of his uncle in Nairobi, but instead is humiliated and must return to his troubled family. An alcoholic father and a sister forced into prostitution.

“Pilgrimage Road” (1988), “Dotti” (1990), “Paradise” (1994) were the following books by the novelist. His latest work, After Life, released in 2020, tells the story of Hamza, a young man who is forced to go to war on the side of the Germans and becomes dependent on an officer who sexually exploits him.

Jarna was Professor of English and Post-Colonial Literatures at the University of Kent, Canterbury, and recently retired.

The Nobel Prize in Literature in Numbers

Rudyard Kipling was the youngest award winner. In 1907, when he was appointed, he was 41 years old.

The oldest was Doris Lessing, who was 88 when she was awarded in 2007.

Women Nobel Prize Winners for Literature

The Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to only 16 women out of a hundred men since its inception in 1901.

  • 1909 – Selma Lagerlof
  • 1926 – Grazia Dilida
  • 1928 – Sigrid Undset
  • 1938 – Pearl Buck
  • [1945-Gabrielamistral[1945-غابرييلاميسترال
  • 1966 – Nelly Sachs
  • 1991 – Nadine Gordimer
  • 1993 – Toni Morrison
  • 1996 – Wislawa Szymborska
  • 2004 – Alfredi Jelinek
  • 2007 – Doris Lessing
  • 2009 – Herta Müller
  • 2013 – Alice Munro
  • 2015 – Svetlana Alexievich
  • 2018 – Olga Tokarczuk
  • 2020 – Louise Gluck

After the #MeToo scandal that led to the award being suspended in 2018,and frequent criticism of having male and European winners, the Swedish Academy, which is responsible for awarding the prestigious award, said it has revamped its criteria and spectrum so that the award is more universal and feminine.

This year, the prize for each Nobel category is 10 million Swedish kronor (about 6.1 million Brazilian reals).

a A medical degree was the first to be announced, in the second (4), and handed over to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian to discover how stimuli such as heat or cold are detected by the human body and converted into electrical impulses. The Physics Prize, issued on Tuesday (6), has been awarded to Siokoro Manabe, Klaus Haselmann and Giorgio Baresi. For innovative contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems.

See also  House of Gucci: Lady Gaga shines in movie preview in a fluttering purple dress - Vogue

Wednesday (6), A Nobel Prize in Chemistry for Benjamin List and David Macmillan, by a new molecule construction tool.

The Peace and Economy Awards will be announced on Friday (8) and Monday (11) respectively.

See the full award schedule: